31 May 2018

Waugh and Gilbert earn members' Trust again

MEMBERS of the SCG Trust have given their tick of approval to Phil Waugh and Dave Gilbert by reappointing the pair as Trustees for the next four years.

The two former Australian representatives in their chosen sports polled more than half of the total vote between them and will now serve their second terms on the Trust. Mr Smith and Mr Waugh join the 13 government-appointed Trustees under Chairman Tony Shepherd.

There were 10 nominations for the two available positions, compared to 29 when the election was held in 2014. No female members nominated for election to the Trust.

Phil Waugh starred as a leader throughout his rugby career with the NSW Waratahs and played 79 Test matches for the Wallabies. 

Since retiring from full time rugby, Mr Waugh (pictured above) has held successful corporate banking roles as a financial services executive, board director and investor and currently works as a senior executive with the St.George Bank.

Proud New South Welshman Dave Gilbert represented his state, nation and also played with distinction in the English County Cricket competition in the 1980s.

On retirement, Mr Gilbert (pictured below) moved into various coaching and managerial roles with the Sussex club in the UK before taking on a successful long-term role as CEO of the NSW Cricket Association.

During their current tenure as member-elected Trustees, both Mr Waugh and Mr Gilbert have been instrumental in negotiations supporting many new initiatives within the SCG precinct and are strong advocates for the impending restructure of the SFS, as well as future plans for the SCG and surrounding areas.

Both also serve on the Trust Advisory Group and the Members Advisory Group.

The poll was conducted by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Other notable nominations were long time SCG member John Flitcroft, who lifted his vote from 210 in the 2014 election to 1482 overall with a strong grassroots campaign. He was the final nominee excluded during the count, placing third behind the two elected Trustees.

Longtime gold member and Stadium Club regular Stephen Manns also polled strongly, as did the ever-popular country member from Dubbo Andrew McKay. Craig Meagher is a former member of the Trust senior executive, CEO of the Sydney Kings and CEO of Bicycling NSW.

The Trust would like to congratulate all those involved for nominating themselves for election to represent the interests of all members of the Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust. 

The final vote count after preferences was:
Phil Waugh - 2208
David Gilbert - 1827
John Flitcroft - 1482
Stephen Manns - 832
Andrew McKay - 695
Craig Meagher - 500
Danny Beran - 431
Andrew Loadsman - 276
Will Mrongovius - 237
David Scribner - 157