25 July 2019

BBL back at the SCG

The Sydney Sixers will play six home matches and any finals at the SCG in the 2019-20 summer, bringing the excitement of the BBL's ninth season to the home of cricket in NSW.

The Sixers and the SCG have worked together to relocate a home fixture that clashes with the annual New Year's Test match.

The January 5 match against the Adelaide Strikers will be played at a regional NSW centre, with the SCG securing access to the match for its members.

The SCG draws nearly a quarter of its members from regional NSW and the Sixers will use the relocated match to further strengthen their support in country areas.

The Sydney Sixers begin their season with a home game on Wednesday, December 18 against the Perth Scorchers at the SCG, with the season's first Sydney derby against the Thunder at the SCG on Saturday, December 28.

Following the 14 home and away matches during the regular season, a new format will see the top five teams progress to the semi-finals, before the grand final on Saturday February 8, 2020.

“We are very excited for another summer of Big Bash, and to host six games at the SCG,” Sydney Sixers general manager Jodie Hawkins said.

“Our members and fans can come out to what we think is the best major cricket ground in the country, support a team on the rise and meet some of their favourite players."

Sydney Cricket Ground members are entitled to attend all Sixers matches at the SCG, including any possible finals.

The Sydney Sixers fixtures for BBL|09 are (SCG matches in bold):

Date

Venue

Opponent

Local Time

Wednesday, December 18

SCG

Perth Scorchers

7.10pm

Friday, December 20

Traeger Park, Alice Springs

Hobart Hurricanes

1.15pm

Sunday, December 22

SCG

Brisbane Heat

7.10pm

Thursday, December 26

Optus Stadium

Perth Scorchers

4.10pm

Saturday, December 28

SCG

Sydney Thunder

7.10pm

Thursday, January 2

Marvel Stadium

Melbourne Renegades

7.10pm

Sunday, January 5

TBC

Adelaide Strikers

6.40pm

Wednesday, January 8

Adelaide Oval

Adelaide Strikers

3.10pm

Sunday, January 12

MCG

Melbourne Stars

7.10pm

Thursday,  January 16

SCG

Hobart Hurricanes

7.10pm

Saturday, January 18

Sydney Showground Stadium

Sydney Thunder

7.10pm

Monday, January 20

SCG

Melbourne Stars

6.40pm

Thursday, January 23

Gabba

Brisbane Heat

6.10pm

Saturday, January 25

SCG

Melbourne Renegades

3.40pm

SPORTS PARTNERS
CORPORATE PARTNERS