28 October 2020

Aus-India Blockbusters for SCG Summer of Cricket

Cricket Australia has announced an exciting summer of cricket with the SCG to host two One-Day Internationals, two T20 Internationals, a day-night tour match and the New Year's Test against India.


Australia will start their international summer with two of the three ODI Series matches at the SCG (November 27, 29) and will return to the venue for the final two matches of the T20 International Series (December 6, 8).

The Test series has also been confirmed with Virat Kohli and India to take on the Aussies in the New Year's Test commencing on Thursday, January 7 as part of Cricket Australia's revised schedule.

"We’re very excited to welcome Team India back to the SCG for what is a highly-anticipated summer of cricket,” Sydney Cricket & Sports Grounds Chief Executive Kerrie Mather said.

“It's been a challenging year but the opportunity for our members and fans to enjoy the summer ahead is welcome to news to all Australians and is the result of hard work by many behind the scenes including Cricket Australia and the NSW Government.

"The teams will safely prepare during quarantine with the help of Government and health authorities and we look forward to seeing more supporters in the stands this summer."

NSW Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney, Stuart Ayres said: “The NSW Government is pleased to support Cricket Australia and ensure that Australians get to see a Summer of cricket.” 

NSW Acting Minister for Sport, Geoff Lee said: “We can’t wait to host one of the world’s best teams for a terrific summer of cricket with the SCG ready to host the third Test in January. NSW loves its cricket and we are so pleased we could work hand in hand with Cricket Australia to make this series happen.”

In addition to the international fixtures, members will have access to tour matches between India A and Australia A at Drummoyne Oval (6-8) and Australia A v India (December 11-13) in the first pink ball fixture at the SCG.


Dettol ODI Series v India                                                                                                            

First ODI: Friday, November 27 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night) 

Second ODI: Sunday, November 29 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night) 

Third ODI: Wednesday, December 2 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Day-Night) 

Dettol T20 INTL Series v India

First T20: Friday, December 4 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night) 

Second T20: Sunday, December 6 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night) 

Third T20: Tuesday, December 8 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night) 

Vodafone Test Series v India

First Test: December 17-21 – Adelaide Oval (Day-Night) 

Second Test: December 26-30 – Melbourne Cricket Ground 

Third Test: January 7-11 – Sydney Cricket Ground 

Fourth Test: January 15-19 – The Gabba, Brisbane 

*The matches and travel remain subject to relevant government restrictions or requirements.