02 August 2018

Trust Chairman praises Immortals

SCG Trust Chairman Tony Shepherd has paid tribute to the five Immortals who were elevated to rugby league's most exclusive club at the SCG last night.
"Norm Provan, Mal Meninga, Dally Messenger, Frank Burge and Dave Brown are all iconic figures in Australian sport and together form a formidable group, who have left a profound legacy in the game of rugby league.
"Together they have created so many timeless memories in the pre and post-war era at the SCG, which has been hosting rugby league since its earliest days.
"How can we forget Norm Provan's influence in the Saints' run of 11 straight premierships, the raw talent of the 'Little Master' Dally Messenger, the enduring strength of Frank Burge or the legendary point-scoring feats of Dave Brown.
"I'd like to congratulate Norm and Mal and pay tribute to Dally, Frank and Dave for their immense contribution to the SCG and rugby league, along with all of the Hall of Fame inductees.
"The first four Immortals - Clive Churchill, Reg Gasnier, Bob Fulton and John Raper - were unveiled at the SCG in 1981 so it was more than fitting that the five newest arrivals were announced at the SCG last night, a ground which is still rich with memories of them all."

The SCG boasts grandstands named in honour of Clive Churchill and Dally Messenger, while Trevor Allan, Arthur Beetson, Dave Brown, Michael Cleary, Ron Coote, Bob Fulton, Reg Gasnier, Keith Holman, Graeme Langlands, Bob McCarthy, Dally Messenger, John Raper, the Thornett brothers (John, Dick and Ken), and the St George Dragons (1956-1966) are all recognised in the SCG Walk of Honour.
Dally Messenger, Reg Gasnier, and Trevor Allan are immortalised in bronze as part of the Basil Sellers Sports Sculptures project.

Explore Tags