19 May 2021

SCG to host fourth 2021/22 Ashes Test

The Sydney Cricket Ground will host the fourth Test of the 2021/22 Ashes Series, as confirmed by Cricket Australia today (Wednesday, May 19).

The Australian men’s team will begin Ashes Series defence at the Gabba from December 8-12 ahead of a day-night Test at the Adelaide Oval from December 16-20.

The traditional Boxing Day and New Years’ Tests will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (December 26-30) and Sydney Cricket Ground (January 5-9) respectively, with the final Test scheduled for Perth’s Optus Stadium (January 14-18).

Preceding the Ashes will be a historic first Test match against the Afghanistan men’s team at Blundstone Arena on November 27.
“The men’s Ashes is one of the great global sporting rivalries and seems to grow ever larger with each series and generation,” Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s Interim CEO said.

“We cannot wait to host England over five Tests this summer. The most recent Ashes series was a remarkable contest that captured the imagination of the entire cricketing world and I expect this summer to be no different.

“In a perfect world, we would welcome the Barmy Army back to these shores for a summer of singing and sportsmanship. Of course, we will be guided by the Australian Government on all things related to international travel.

“We are also incredibly excited to welcome Afghanistan to our shores for a historic first Test match against Australia. The story of the Afghanistan cricket team is one of the most uplifting in international sport, and their record of three wins from their first six Tests prove they truly belong at this level.

“The men’s international summer concludes with a feast of white ball cricket against the formidable New Zealanders and Sri Lankans, both of whom have huge followings in Australia. Both series will be keenly contested and serve as excellent preparation for the T20 World Cup in Australia later in the year.”


Men’s Ashes Series

December 8 – December 12: The Gabba
December 16 - December 20: Adelaide Oval (Day-night)
December 26 – December 30: MCG
January 5 – January 9: SCG
January 14 – January 18: Perth Stadium


Men’s ODI Series v New Zealand

January 30: Perth
February 2: Blundstone Arena (Day-night)
February 5 – SCG (Day-night)


Men’s T20I Series v Sri Lanka

February 11: SCG (Night)
February 13: The Gabba (Night)

February 15: Metricon Stadium (Night)
February 18: Adelaide Oval (Night)
February 20: MCG