SCG Grandstands timeline

Our grand stands through time

Since its inception, the SCG Trust has developed the Sydney Cricket Ground into a sacred site of Australian sport. A venue revered by sporting stars and spectators alike, the SCG is easily recognisable by its heritage listed Members and Ladies Pavilions.

DougWaltersStand_Scoreboard.jpg
These two iconic stands have provided a magnificent backdrop to the hundreds of memorable moments including cricket feats, the 1938 Empire Games, rugby league, rugby union and AFL domestic and international matches that have since graced the ground.
Whilst the Trust will maintain the Members and Ladies Pavilions for future generations to enjoy, it has replaced other stands as the demands for spectator comfort and modern facilities grow.
The Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust began work on a state-of-the-art modern pavilion, replacing the existing Noble, Bradman and Messenger stands, at the end of the 2011/12 international cricket season.
The amazing surrounds of the Noble, Bradman, Messenger stands have been hailed worldwide as a phenomenal space for SCG Members and their friends to enjoy a multitude of entertainment and sporting events.
DougWaltersStand_Scoreboard.jpg

The old Members' Pavillion

The old Members' Pavillion

Built: 1878

Location: Site of the current Ladies’ Pavillion

Architect/Builder: Robinson & Tosh

Alterations: Used as Ladies’ Pavillion after 1886 (since demolished)

The old Members Pavillion was part of the original introduction of grandstands to the SCG.

The Members Pavillion was the first grandstand to be erected on the SCG site and was launched thirty years after the opening of the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The old Members Pavillion was joined by the old Brewongle Stand in 1881 and was surrounded by two public viewing mounds called 'The Hill' and the 'Paddington Hill'.

 

 

The old Brewongle Stand

The old Brewongle Stand

Built: 1881.

Location: South of the Ladies' Stand - Since demolished

The old Brewongle Stand was part of the original grandstand introduction to the Sydney Cricket Ground along with the old Members Pavillion in 1878. 

The old Brewongle Stand was surrounded by 'The Hill' and the 'Paddington Hill' which were two public viewing mounds.

 

Current Members' Pavillion

Current Members' Pavillion

Completed: November 1886

Location: Western side

Alterations: Extended 1903

The current Members Pavillion was built and introduced in 1886 at a cost of nearly 7000 pounds with membership levied at two guineas.

Resting in the north-western corner the magnificent structure has played host to an array of cricketing superstars and their achievements adorn the walls on the record boards which have been updated since the first Test match at the Sydney Cricket Ground in 1882.

The grandstand was extended in 1903 and has remained the home of cricket in Australia for over 120 years.

 

 

 

 

The 'Bob' Stand

The 'Bob' Stand

Built: 1895

Location: Eastern side

Alterations: Moved to North Sydney Oval in 1983

The Hill Stand which was situated in between 'The Hill' and the 'Paddington Hill' inherited the nickname the 'Bob Stand' during The Depression years as it cost one shilling (a bob) to enter the stand.

The entire stand, including clock tower, was carefully dismantled and re-erected at the North Sydney Oval making way for the Bill O'Reilly Stand during restructuring works at the SCG in the 1980's.

  

 

 

The Ladies' Pavillion

The Ladies' Pavillion

Built: 1896

Location: South of the Members Stand

Architect/Builder: John Kirkpatrick

The Smokers' Stand

The Smokers' Stand

Built: 1896

Location: South of the Brewongle Stand  - Site of the current Churchill Stand

Alterations: Moved to No.2 ground in 1909 -  Since demolished

The Northern Stand

The Northern Stand

Built: 1897

Location: North of the Members' Stand

Alterations: Demolished

The Sheridan Stand

The Sheridan Stand

Formerly: The new Smokers' Stand

Built: 1909

Location: Southern end

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

Alterations: Renamed 'The Sheridan Stand' in 1910 and since demolished

The Noble Stand

The Noble Stand

Formerly: The new Members' Pavilion

Built: 1936

Location: Northern end on the site of the Northern Stand

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

Alterations: Renamed 'Noble' in 1947. Internal reconstruction in 1994 then demolished in 2012 with the exception of the clock tower

The Bradman Stand

The Bradman Stand

Built: 1973

Location: East of the Noble Stand

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

Alterations: Demolished in 2012

The new Brewongle Stand

The new Brewongle Stand

Built: 1980

Location: Western side on the site of the old Brewongle Stand

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

The Dally Messenger Stand

The Dally Messenger Stand

Formerly: The Paddington Stand

Built: 1984

Location: North of the O'Reilly Stand

Alterations: Demolished in 2012

The O'Reilly Stand

The O'Reilly Stand

Formerly: The Pat Hills Stand

Built: 1984

Location: Eastern side on the site of the Bob Stand

Alterations: Renamed 'O'Reilly Stand' in June 1988

The Doug Walters Stand

The Doug Walters Stand

Built: 1985/86

Location: 'The Hill' in front of the old scoreboard

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

Alterations: Demolished

The Clive Churchill Stand

The Clive Churchill Stand

Built: 1986

Location: South of the Brewongle Stand on the site of the Sheridan Stand

Architect/Builder: Robertson & Marks

The Victor Trumper Stand

The Victor Trumper Stand

Built: 2008

Location: The Hill

Architect/Builder: Cox Robertson Marks/AW Edwards

The M A Noble/Bradman/Dally Messenger Stands

The M A Noble/Bradman/Dally Messenger Stands

Built: 2012

Location: Eastern side and is located on the site of the demolished stands by the same names. The $197.5M development includes a 273m² digital scoreboard, Wi-Fi and IPTV connectivity with over 420 HD TV screens. The grandstand has won international awards in technological advancement and experience for visitors to the SCG.

SPORTS PARTNERS
CORPORATE PARTNERS