22 August 2018

Healy ton secures 19th WNCL title

Sydney Tigers internationals Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry have spearheaded the NSW Breakers to a 19th Women’s National Cricket League championship.

The Australian representatives produced a batting masterclass to help the all conquering Breakers post a formidable tally of 302 in their Grand Final showdown with Western Australia last Saturday at Blacktown International

Player of the Match Healy smashed a magnificent 122 from 109 balls and Perry a run-aball 96 as unbeaten NSW defeated a gallant WA by 51 runs to secure yet another trophy.

It was the Breakers’ 19th one day domestic title in the competition’s 22 year history and gave retiring skipper Alex Blackwell, who scored 24 runs, a rousing sendoff. Hot shot Healy was at her dynamic best, clouting 18 boundaries and sharing a crucial third wicket partnership of 147 with superstar Perry, who this summer collected the ICC World Player of the Year and Belinda Clark Medals.

WA skipper Elyse Villani (74) and England international Amy Jones (59) shone for the visitors who were dismissed for 251.

Meanwhile Sydney Cricket Club’s bid for a Poidevin-Gray Shield Under 21 title was ruined after the Tigers’ semi final clash with Gordon was abandoned due to Healy ton secures 19th WNCL title heavy rain.

Gordon posted 8-200 in overcast conditions with fine contributions from Axel Cahlin (63), Michael Roberts (44), Oliver Zannino (31), Liam Windel (19) and Chris Searle (15 not out).

But due to inclement weather Sydney never got the opportunity to begin its run chase with the match declared a draw and Gordon advancing to the Shield decider via a higher ranking.

Spinners Ben Manenti (2-34) and Delray Rawlins (2-35) along with seamer Harry Manenti (2-42), Liam Scott (1- 18) and paceman Chris Thompsett (1-24) shared the bowling spoils.

Sydney first grade cricket team need to stand and deliver with the bat this Saturday when play resumes in their important NSW Premier Cricket clash with Randwick-Petersham at Coogee Oval.

The fifth placed Tigers will be chasing 304 runs for victory to consolidate a finals spot and require big performances from their top six.

Half centuries from skipper Anthony Sams (64), Daniel Sams (64) and Riley Ayre (61) plus handy contributions from Shaun Eaton (38) and Adam Semple (33) helped the Randy Petes amass 303 on the opening day.

Best of the Sydney bowlers were quick Nic Bills (3-53 off 17 overs), off spinner Ben Manenti (3-82 off 36 overs) and Harry Dalton (2-10 off six).

SECONDS: Randwick-Petersham 4-155 (James Mahony-Brack 63, Jack Tector 33, Joshua Bohannon 29no, Matt Calder 21, Ash Squire 3-46) v Sydney 112 (Delray Rawlins 23, Matt Pasternatsky 20, J Bohannon 6-32, Alex Deller 2-30).

THIRDS: Randwick-Petersham 232 (Dylan Powell 73, Ben Stares 61no, Ashley Burton 31, Craig Di Blasio 3-18, Ryan Corns 3-50) v Sydney. FOURTHS: Sydney 8-192 (Justin Felsch 64, Dominic Tonkin 45, Ahmed Hassan 28, Alex Rashleigh 14no, Rod Stafford 4-71) v Randwick-Petersham.

FIFTHS: Randwick- Petersham 103 (Fergus Bowen 25, Ed House 24, Avery Weilandt 4-9, Ellis Sherriff 3-12) v Sydney 2-32.

Explore Tags
Sports Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors