12 February 2019

Healy claims her first Belinda Clark Award

Alyssa Healy capped off a glorious year in Australian colours claiming the most coveted individual female award in cricket, the Belinda Clark Medal.

Healy ended the stranglehold that champions Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry had over the prestigious award winning the last five awards between them. This was the first time that Healy has won the award as she finished well ahead of her peers with a total of 125 votes, with swing bowler Megan Schutt (81 votes) and all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner (71) well behind Healy in the top three.

Recognised for her dominant year, Healy took out the ODI Player of the Year finishing a singular vote above left-hand batter Nicole Bolton. Healy amassed a total of 329 runs in the ODI format whilst Bolton scored 235 runs which included an unbeaten century.

The Sydney Tiger also won the T20I Player of the Year with ease, 13 points clear of opening bowler Schutt (30 votes) and Perry (27 votes) rounding out the top three. 

During the voting period, Healy led the batting scoring a total of 907 runs at an average of 45.35, with a highest score of 133 coming against India. The next highest run scorer over this period was captain Meg Lanning who scored 602 runs.

Sydney Cricket Club congratulates Alyssa on her fantastic achievements and wishes her all the best for the upcoming year.

Explore Tags
Sports Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors