05 December 2018

Four Tigers named in Bush Breakers squad

Congratulations to Kate Jackson who has been selected as captain of the NSW Country Bush Breakers squad. Kate, along with Jessica Marks, Synetta Manns and Naomi McDonald, have been named in the Bush Breakers squad who will compete in the Women's Division of the Australian Country Championships in January after strong performances to start the 2018/19 season.

Well done Tigers!


NSW Country selectors have named a 14-player squad to represent the Bush Breakers in the Women’s Division of the Australian Country Championships in January.

The NSW Country Women’s team will be captained by Port Macquarie allrounder Kate Jackson for the second consecutive season.

Six debutants have been selected in the squad including 43-year-old opening batter Joanne Kelly.

Kelly was the leading run-scorer for St George-Sutherland last season in the McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket competition. She made 742 runs at an average of 43.6 across all forms.

The other five debutants include McKenzie Carr, Claire Lennon, Claire Murray, Alana Ryan and Jaclyn Vickery.

North Coastal and Central Northern are the best represented zones in the squad. Each area is represented by four players.

The squad also includes allrounder Naomi McDonald, who was one of two Bush Breakers named in the Women’s Australian Country Merit XII last season, along with wicketkeeper Rebecca Cady from Bathurst.

McDonald was the leading run-scorer for the Bush Breakers at the championships last season. She scored 165 runs at 41.25.

The Bush Breakers finished the 2018 Country Championships in third place.

The Women’s Division of the Country Championships this season starts on 5 January in Shepparton, Victoria.

NSW Country Bush Breakers 2019 Australian Country Championships

Kate Jackson ( c ) North Coastal
McKenzie Carr Western
Sophie Heath Greater Illawarra
Tiegan Kavanagh Central Coast
Joanne Kelly Greater Illawarra
Claire Lennon Central Northern
Jessica Marks North Coastal
Synetta Manns Central Northern
Naomi McDonald North Coastal
Melissa Norup North Coastal
Claire Murray Riverina
Alana Ryan Western
Kirsten Smith Central Northern
Jaclyn Vickery Central Northern
Team Officials  
Neil McDonald (Coach) Newcastle
Carolyn Sheehan (Assistant Coach/Manager) Western
Allison Brockley (Scorer) Greater Illawarra

Article courtesy of Cricket NSW

Explore Tags
Sports Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors