05 March 2019

AJ Mosca steers Tigers to Limited-Overs Cup glory

The Tigers have claimed their first Limited-Overs Cup since 1975/76 on Sunday after defeating Sydney University in a tense, high scoring contest at Drummoyne Oval.

After lossing to toss and being forced to field, the Tigers picked up a couple of early wickets, before a few solid Uni partnerships set the platform for a dangerous final 10 overs on run scoring. Picking up crucial wickets at regular intervals at the death allowed the Tigers to restrict Uni to 8/289, with left arm finger spinner Ben Mitchell picking up 4 wickets (4/45), including the vital scalps of set batsman Ed Cowan (49) and Damien Mortimer (45). A record chase was required to lift the Cup, as Uni posted the highest total scored in a Final. Skipper Dan Smith (30) got the run chase going, before Matt Rodgers and AJ Mosca came together with the score at 2/49. The pair proceeded to put on a massive 191 run partnership for the 3rd wicket, before Rodgers fell for a hard working 63. A few quick wickets fell, including Mosca (134 off 110 balls, including 9 fours and 7 sixes), which somewhat brought Uni back into the contest. Coming down to the last over and needing 9 runs to win, it was ice-man Beau McClintock (36no off 19 balls, including 4 sixes) who whacked 2 consecutive sixes over mid-wicket to ensure the final was sealed with 3 balls to spare. 

After a GOAT-like performance, AJ Mosca was deservedly presented with the Michael Bevan Medal as Player of the Final for his record breaking 134, which is now the highest individual score in a Limited-Overs Cup Final. The Tigers' 6/293 is also the highest team total in a Limited-Overs Final, having eclipsed Uni's total in the first innings.

An outstanding day for the Rampant Tigers at Drummoyne Oval, with plenty of friends, family and supporters there to witness a fantastic game of cricket and well deserved title. Well done to all involved!

Explore Tags
Sports Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors