22 September 2017

SANZAAR release 2018 Super Rugby draw

The NSW Waratahs will open their 2018 Super Rugby season against the Stormers at Allianz Stadium on Saturday, February 24 as part of the restructured competition.

Six home games have been confirmed so far with the Waratahs also set to host the Rebels, Lions, Sunwolves and Brumbies throughout the season. 

Under the new 15-team format for 2018, each Australian team will face off with each of their Australian Conference rivals at home and away, intensifying the battle for the all-important provincial title which offers a guaranteed finals berth.

In another great development for Australian rugby fans, only four matches involving Australian teams will kick off between the hours of midnight and 3:30am Australian (eastern) time throughout the course of the season.

ARU CEO Bill Pulver said: “Super Rugby in 2018 will reignite the local rivalries here in Australia with home and away derbies returning and fans will be treated to more matches in better timeslots, so this new competition format is a big win for Rugby fans in Australia.”

NSW Waratahs home season at Allianz Stadium

Waratahs v Stormers, Saturday February 24
Waratahs v Rebels, Sunday March 18
Waratahs v Lions, Saturday April 20
Waratahs v Highlanders, Saturday May 19
Waratahs v Sunwolves, Saturday July 7
Waratahs v Brumbies, Saturday July 14